In 2018, recreational marijuana became legal in Michigan. Woohoo! But what exactly does legalization really mean? Here at Fire Island, we are a proud veteran-owned company focused on promoting the responsible consumption of this world-changing plant.
In this blog, we will discuss some of The Great Lakes State’s cannabis laws and guidelines so you can more optimally enjoy your experience.
Overview of Michigan Cannabis Laws & Tax Info
First, let’s look at a brief overview of Michigan cannabis laws and tax revenue allocation information. Any person age 21 or older is able to purchase cannabis from licensed recreational retail stores.
Medical patients do not have to be over 18 to obtain a med card. If they are under 18, they require two physician certs and parental consent.
The purchase of marijuana is subject to a 10% excise tax in addition to the 6% sales tax, similar to tobacco and alcoholic beverages. Up until 2022, Michigan set aside $20 million each year from the excise tax to help to research the efficacy of marijuana in treating the medical conditions of veterans and preventing veteran suicide.
Any additional funds generated (including those generated from the excise tax after 2022) will be designated to the following:
- 15% to municipalities in which a marijuana retail store or microbusiness is located.
- 15% to counties in which a marijuana retail store or microbusiness is located.
- 35% to the school aid fund to be used for K-12 education.
- 35% to the Michigan transportation fund to be used for the repair and maintenance of roads and bridges.
Personal Marijuana Possession & Purchasing
As a responsible and conscious consumer, perhaps the most important piece of information you need to know is how much marijuana you are allowed to possess by law. At any given time, you are allowed to have up to 2.5 ounces of flower in your possession (or 15 g of concentrates).
There is not a per day limit for recreational marijuana in Michigan; however, there is a per transaction limit of 2.5 ounces and a monthly limit of 10 ounces.
Many cannabis recreational retail stores are cash only, but with recent adaptations to COVID protocols, some now offer online ordering and the use of credit cards. Pickup options and delivery options can also potentially be available (Fire Island has in-store and curbside pick-up! We also accept debit/ATM cards and Aeropay for Cashless Payments.)
The law allows for the distribution of cannabis under 2.5 ounces as long as there is no exchange of money or goods. Distribution of 5 ounces or less without the exchange of money or goods is considered a misdemeanor and comes with a $500 fine. The personal sale of cannabis is considered a felony.
Stay ‘Always Lit’ with Fire Island – Your Go-To Spot for Cannabis in Gratiot County, MI!
Now that you know more about the specifics of Michigan cannabis policy and the restrictions set in place by the CRA, you can have peace of mind during your purchasing and consumption experience.
Above all else, be sure to obtain your cannabis products only from trusted sources. Come visit our excellent facility and converse with our friendly, knowledgeable staff to begin (or to continue) your personal wellness journey!
Still have questions or are looking to find out more about our brand and products? Please do not hesitate to give us a call or send us a message via our website.